IPB

[Add Reply] [New Topic]
> It Ain't About Japan Either
Critter
post Jun 26 2004, 04:22 PM [ Post #1 ]

Christopher Paige

Group: Admin
Member No.: 2

I worked in the Auto Industry and I do know a little bit about the Automobile industry in America (and a little bit about the UAW/Auto Workers).

First off, a car is not much use if there are no paved roads to drive cars on. So, in effect, the entire infrastructure/network of roads/streets/higways in America exist soley to ENABLE US automobile manufacturers. In fact, I would say that America itself exists soley to enable US automobile manufacturers.

Maybe it is just me, but I laugh whenever I hear some know it all business analysts proclaim that Japan is going to destroy the US Automobile industry. How exactly are the Japanese going to out whore the people who invented whoring? Assuming that the Japanese were actually capable of original thought, most American Automobile manufacturers OWN a Japanese automobile company or have an equity stake in one. And I think it is relatively safe to say that everything the Japanese currently know about building cars, they learned from American Automobile manufacturers back in the 60's.

I worked for a Japanese company (small semiconductor company) and it always amazed me how the Japanese employees of this company spent so much of their time comparing themselves to Americans. For example, they were always bringing up the gross national product of America vs Japan, the average personal income of Americans vs Japanese and all kind of BS.

At one point my Japanese Supervisor was going on and on about how Japan was taking over the semiconductor industry and this Supervisor asked: "Do you know what would happen if Japan decided to stop selling semiconductors to the US?" I looked up at the guy and said: "Yea, there would be no more Japan".